What is the Cost of SR22 Insurance Virginia?
The Virginia Department of Motor vehicle requires that all motor vehicle owners provide a proof of having minimum insurance coverage limits which is enough to cater for injuries or damages that have been cased. The affected person is required to ask his or her insurance company to write directly to the state’s department of motor vehicle. There are two kinds of certifications regarding financial responsibility in the state of Virginia: the FR44 and SR22. AN SR22 Certifications is required in instances where the license of a driver has been suspended, where there are unsatisfied judgments and where the applicant has committed an offense which is punishable under the laws that govern motor vehicles.
Others include when a driver causes an accident which results in the death of another person, if a driver doesn’t stop at an accidents scene or fails to identify himself or herself, voluntary manslaughter as a result of negligence when driving a motor vehicle and making false statements to the department of motor vehicle. Nonetheless, people who falsify their insurance certifications will be required to obtain sr22 insurance Virginia and this requires minimum limits for state liability. People who drive with a blood alcohol level of 0.8 or higher are charged for a DUI offense. A DUI covers the use of drugs, alcohol and other products that causes intoxication of the driver, therefore impairing on the driver’s ability to operate the motor vehicle in the right way.
The limits of SR22 Insurance Virginia are as follows:
- An amount of $25,000 for death or bodily injury in case of an accident.
- $50,000 for death or injury of two people who have been injured in an accident.
- $20,000 for damages which have been caused to property.
- Alternatively, the owners of motor vehicles can show a proof of bond or surely by depositing money or any other acceptable security with Virginia’s Department of Motor Vehicles.
However, SR22 should be renewed after some time, therefore its imperative to ensure that you maintain a good driving record. If your SR22 auto approved insurance lapses, gets cancelled or expire, the insurance company will act by notifying the state. At this particular point, the state may suspend your driver’s license and limit your ability to drive a motor vehicle. It really helps that you try your best to maintain the conditions that come with this kind of certification because failure to do this could prove to be a costly affair.
As a matter of fact, it costs more to have an SR22 in the state of Virginia. The amount of filing fees is around $25 depending on the exact kind of certificate which you may require. A higher amount will be required from those who want to buy guarantees that are higher than the stipulated liability limits.
In some instances, the laws that govern SR22 insurance Virginia can be complicated; therefore it’s of great essence that you enlist for the support of a qualified and experienced insurance agent. These experts will not only help you know how you can save money, but also ensure that your driving privileges are protected.